NCHA Lands Six All-Americans; Davis Coach of the Year

NCHA Lands Six All-Americans; Davis Coach of the Year

The 2017 AHCA/CCM Division III Women's All-Americans were released at the Frozen Four banquet on Thursday night.

The Northern Collegiate Hockey Association dominated the scene on the Western side, with NCHA student-athletes earning two of the six spots on the First Team and six All-American honorees overall. Adrian College's Chad Davis was also tabbed the CCM/AHCA College Division Women's Coach of the Year for 2016-17.

First Team
Sam Walther, JR, Hamilton College
(Gambrills, MD)
Amanda DiNella, SO, Gustavus Adolphus
(Oakbrook Terrace, IL)
Erin Brand, SR, Plattsburgh State @
(Long Beach, NY)
Paige Johnson, SR, UW-River Falls +#
(Marshfield, WI)
Kim Tiberi, JR, Norwich University
(Raleigh, NC)
Kelly O'Sullivan, FY, Adrian College
(Inverness, IL)
Kayla Meneghin, JR, Plattsburgh State @*
(Clifton, NJ)
Kathryn Larson, SR, University of St. Thomas +*
(Shoreview, MN)
Sarah Schwenzfeier, JR, Norwich University
(Hingham, MA) )
Kristin Lewicki, SR, Adrian College @
(Moundsville, WV)
Melissa Sheeran, JR, Plattsburgh State @
(Schaghticoke, NY)
Dani Sibley, SR, UW-River Falls +
(Monticello, MN)

Second Team
Camille Leonard, SR, Plattsburgh State @
(Oakville, ON)
Angie Hall, JR, UW-River Falls
(White Bear Lake, MN)
Megan Crandall, JR, Plattsburgh State*
(Fullerton, CA)
Kayla Griffith, JR, Lake Forest College @
(Woodbury, MN)
Carly Watson, SR, Middlebury College*
(Montpelier, VT)
Sydney Smith, SR, Adrian College @
(Sarnia, ON)
Alison Butler, SR, Saint Anselm College
(Danvers, MA)
Carly Moran, JR, UW-River Falls
(Winona, MN)
Alex Toupal, JR, Amherst College +
(New Brighton, MN)
Kaylyn Schroka, SR, Adrian College
(Belleville, MI)
Jessica Young, JR, Middlebury College
(Mission Hills, KS)
Sarah Shureb, SR, Adrian College
(Livonia, MI)
@ First Team in 2016; + Second Team in 2016; # First Team in 2015; * Second Team in 2015



Davis Named National Coach of the Year; Five Bulldogs Named CCM/AHCA All-Americans

ADRIAN, Mich. - The American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) announced the 2017 CCM Division III All-Americans at the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship© Banquet, held on the campus of Adrian College on Thursday night, March 16. The host Adrian College Bulldogs along with Plattsburgh State led all schools with five All-American selections.

Senior forward Kristin Lewicki and freshman defensemen Kelly O'Sullivan were both given first team nods. Sydney Smith (Sr., D), Kaylyn Schroka (Sr., F), and Sarah Shureb (Sr., F) were named to the second team. Lewicki and Smith both were first-team AHCA/CCM All-Americans last year.

Along with the five Adrian athletes named All-American, Head Coach Chad Davis was tabbed the CCM/AHCA College Division III Women's Coach of the Year.

Lewicki (30+33=63) is the Bulldogs' leading scorer and is currently second in all of DIII with 2.17 points per game. The Moundsville, W. Va., native is in the top three in the nation in most major statistical categories. She is first in power-play goals (12), second in goals per game (1.03) and game-winning goals (8), and third in assists per game (1.14).

O'Sullivan (11+25=36) is third in DIII in scoring among blueliners. She is also third among all freshmen and tied for 20th overall.

O'Sullivan's linemate, Smith (11+26=37) is currently ranked 17th nationally in points per game. She is tied for sixth in power-play goals (7) and eighth in assists per game (0.90). She is second among defensemen, scoring 1.28 points per game.

Schroka (29+30=59) is the second part of the Adrian trio, with Lewicki, that spent most of the season in the top-5 scoring totals. The Bulldog captain is currently tied for second in power-play goals (9), third with 2.03 points per game, third goals per game (1.00), and fourth in assists per game (1.03).

Shureb (23+34=57) is the final piece of the Adrian scoring trio. The Livonia, Mich., product is second in the country in assists per game (1.17), fourth with 1.97 points per game, eighth in goals per game (0.79), tied for 10th in power-play goals (6), and tied for 13th in game-winning goals (4).

Davis has won his first AHCA Coach of the Year award. He led the Bulldogs to a 27-2-0 record and a perfect 18-0-0 mark in the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association (NCHA).

Under Davis, Adrian won its third consecutive NCHA regular season title (Kronschnabel Trophy) and second consecutive conference tournament championship (Slaats Cup). The team's 18-0-0 conference ledger is also the first unbeaten and untied conference record in the league's history.

The Bulldogs defeated Elmira 5-4 in overtime in the NCAA Championship First Round to give Adrian its first-ever NCAA "final four" appearance.

Davis will continue to lead the Bulldogs this season as Adrian is set to face off against Gustavus Adolphus in the national semifinals in Arrington Ice Arena on Friday night at 7:00 p.m.


Kayla Griffith Named Second Team West All-American

The American Hockey Coaches Association released the 2016-17 CCM Division III Women's Hockey All-Americans Thursday night and Lake Forest College's Kayla Griffith was listed for the second year in a row.

Griffith, a junior who saw time at both forward and defense this season, was a Second Team West selection at the latter position. She set career-highs with 11 goals, 15 assists, and 26 points this season. Griffith lit the lamp three times on the power play, netted three game-winners, and recorded her first career hat trick against Finlandia University on December 2.

A First Team West All-American last season, Griffith now has 58 points in her career on 19 goals and 39 assists. She also owns a +44 plus/minus rating and has played in each of the team's 81 games over the last three seasons. She is just the second played in program history to earn All-American honors in multiple seasons.

With an overall record of 21-6-1, Lake Forest set a single-season team record for victories and posted a 14-3-1 record in Northern Collegiate Hockey Association play. The Foresters advanced to the championship game of the NCHA Slaats Cup Playoffs for the third time in the last four years.